Call for papers

The 35th International Workshop on Combinatorial Algorithms (IWOCA 2024) will be held in Ischia, Italy, on July 1-3 2024.


The topics of interest include (but are not limited to) the following:

  • Ad Hoc, Dynamic and Evolving Networks
  • Algorithms and Data Structures
  • Algorithms on Strings & Graphs
  • Algorithms for Big Data and Networks Analytics
  • Algorithmic Game Theory
  • Approximation Algorithms
  • Circuits and Boolean Functions
  • Combinatorial Generation, Enumeration and Counting
  • Combinatorial Optimization
  • Complexity Theory
  • Combinatorics of Words
  • Computational Algebra and Geometry
  • Computational Biology
  • Cryptography and Information Security
  • Distributed and Parallel Algorithms
  • Experimental Evaluation of Algorithms
  • Fine-grained Complexity
  • Foundations of Cloud Computing
  • Graph Algorithms for Social Network Analysis
  • Graph Drawing and Labelling
  • Graph Theory & Combinatorics
  • Mobile Agents
  • New Paradigms of Computation
  • Online Algorithms
  • Parameterized and Exact Algorithms
  • Probabilistic and Randomized Algorithms
  • Scheduling
  • Streaming Algorithms


Conference proceedings will be published in the LNCS series of Springer, within the ARCoSS subline.

Journal Special Issues

Authors of selected papers accepted to IWOCA will be invited to submit extended versions of their papers to a Special Issue of "Journal of Computer and System Sciences" and to a Special Issue of "Algorithms" .


Awards will be given to the best paper and the best student paper. To be eligible for the best student paper award, at least one of the paper authors must be a full-time student at the time of submission, and the student(s) must have made a significant contribution to the paper.
The program committee may decline to make these awards or may split them.

Submission instructions

Authors are invited to submit high-quality manuscripts reporting original unpublished research in the topics related to the symposium. Simultaneous submission to other conferences or workshops with published proceedings is not allowed. It is required that each accepted paper be presented at the conference by one of its authors.
Submissions must be in the form of a single pdf file prepared using the LNCS latex templates and style files. Springer’s proceedings LaTeX templates are also available on Overleaf. Springer’s authors’ guidelines may be consulted here. Springer encourages authors to include their ORCIDs in their papers, and requieres to draw the attention of the contributing conference paper authors to the Code of Conduct.
Each submission should consist of the main part of the paper, not exceeding 12 pages (including the title page and excluding the references), plus an optional clearly marked appendix (to be read at the discretion of the program committee). Any figure pertaining to the main part of the paper should be included therein (within the 12 page limit). The first page must include an indication of whether the paper is eligible for the best student paper award.
Submissions not conforming to the above rules as well as papers outside of the scope of the conference will be rejected with­out consideration.
Papers are to be submitted electronically through EasyChair at the following link:

Program Chairs

  • Adele Rescigno, University of Salerno, Italy
  • Ugo Vaccaro, University of Salerno, Italy

Program Committee

  • Bogdan Alecu, University of Leeds, UK
  • Petra Berenbrink, University of Hamburg, Germany
  • Tiziana Calamoneri, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
  • Yi-Jun Chang, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Gennaro Cordasco, University of Campania "L. Vanvitelli", Italy
  • Peter Damaschke, Chalmers University, Sweden
  • Adrian Dumitrescu, Algoresearch L.L.C., USA
  • Klim Efremenko, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel
  • Leah Epstein, University of Haifa, Israel
  • David Eppstein, University of California, USA
  • Thomas Erlebach, Durham University, UK
  • Amedeo Esposito, Institute of Science and Technology, Austria
  • Henning Fernau, Universität Trier, Germany
  • Fedor Fomin, University of Bergen, Norway
  • Travis Gagie, Dalhousie University, Canada
  • Robert Ganian, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
  • Leszek Gasieniec, University of Liverpool, UK
  • Roberto Grossi, University of Pisa, Italy
  • Ling-Ju Hung, National Taipei University of Business, Taiwan
  • Yusuke Kobayashi, Kyoto University, Japan
  • Evangelos Kranakis, Carleton University, Canada
  • Danny Krizanc, Wesleyan University, USA
  • Manuel Lafond, University of Sherbrooke, Canada
  • Chia-Wei Lee, National Taitung University, Taiwan
  • Kitty Meeks, University of Glasgow, UK
  • Martin Milanic, University of Primorska, Slovenia
  • Neeldhara Misra, Indian Institute of Technology Gandhinagar, India
  • Alantha Newman, University Grenoble Alpes, France
  • Aris Pagourtzis, National Technical University of Athens, Greece
  • Ely Porat, Bar-Ilan University, Israel
  • Dieter Rautenbach, Ulm University, Germany
  • Saket Saurabh, Institute of Mathematical Sciences, India
  • Marinella Sciortino, University of Palermo, Italy
  • Sagnik Sen, Indian Institute of Technology Dharwad, India
  • Maria Serna, Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain
  • Florian Sikora, University Paris Dauphine, France
  • Ana Silva, Universidade Federal do Ceará, Brazil
  • Tatiana Starikovskaya, PSL Research University, France
  • Teresa Anna Steiner, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
  • Jukka Suomela, Aalto University, Finland
  • Michal Wlodarczyk, University of Warsaw, Poland
  • Meirav Zehavi, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel

Important Dates (a.o.e.)

  • Abstract submission: February 14, 2024     February 19, 2024         (final deadline)
  • Paper submission: February 21, 2024     February 26, 2024         (final deadline)
  • Notification: April 15, 2024
  • Camera Ready: April 26, 2024     May 1, 2024
  • Conference: July 1-3, 2024

Organizing Committee

  • Roberto Bruno, University of Salerno, Italy
  • Gennaro Cordasco, University of Campania "L. Vanvitelli", Italy
  • Luisa Gargano, University of Salerno, Italy
  • Adele Rescigno, University of Salerno, Italy
  • Ugo Vaccaro, University of Salerno, Italy

Steering Committee

  • Maria Chudnovsky, Princeton University, USA
  • Henning Fernau, Universität Trier, Germany
  • Costas Iliopoulos, King’s College London, UK
  • Ralf Klasing, CNRS and University of Bordeaux, France
  • Wing-Kin (Ken) Sung, National University of Singapore, Singapore

Invited Speakers

  • Ralf Klasing, CNRS and University of Bordeaux, France
  • Lucia Moura, University of Ottawa, Canada
  • Nadia Pisanti, University of Pisa, Italy